I Need a Break: January – Unnecessary Shopping

Every month for 2014, I will participate in a “living without challenge.” This requires giving up something I’m addicted to or dependent on for a full month. My goal is to find a new perspective on the other side, showing myself that I have full control of my life and how I spend my time, money and energy. Hopefully this will inspire you to push yourself out of your comfort zone too!

FM

While my New Year’s resolution is to become one of those disgustingly positive people who finds a reason to be grateful for everything, I plan on accomplishing one tangible goals each month. They are meant to relate back to my overall goal, helping me stay on track and change my way of thinking from multiple angles.

This month, I plan on giving up unnecessary personal purchases. This could not come at a better time after all the money spent on holiday gifts and travel. My family and friends live in NYC so naturally the city that never sleeps left me strapped for cash.

I recently moved to Boston with a handful of friends and that’s it. It’s time that I embrace this beautiful city and it’s culture. And instead of spending money on Newbury Street on new clothes and unnecessary take out, I will allow myself to spend money exploring my new home. I will save money by not spending on frivolous purchases and have enough to make memories with friends, such as going to museums or natural parks or community service.

Updates will be provided as the month comes to a close. Check back to see how I did!

1/16 Update: So far so good! Okay well maybe I did try to buy a Livingsocial ah-mazing deal, but I made myself wait 5 days before doing so and then the deal ended abruptly (win/lose scenario). I’ve spent money only on a few experiences including pottery painting with the roomies, bowling on a Saturday night last weekend and a drink or two at the bar. I feel more in tuned with Boston, finding so many things to do rather than hit up shops and lounging in bed all day. Things to do this month: see Anchorman 2 (by the beard of Zeus!), go on a ski trip and check out a museum.  Hope to accomplish some of these this weekend!

End of Month Update: Yo I did it! I have a completely new outlook on spending now – I actually find it difficult to find reasons to make purchases. I tried to go shopping last weekend and I just didn’t feel the need to buy anything. I definitely don’t need, but the “want” is now gone. Which is good, since I’m hoping to spend all this saved up money on a trip to Europe this summer! This challenge also inspired me to volunteer and fill my time with friends and other activities.

Leave a comment